Skip to main content

Excellence in Service Award

staff excellence

The School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS) Excellence in Service Award was established in 2019 to recognize Ontario Tech University staff members who have displayed professional excellence in graduate education.

  • About

    A maximum of one award will be presented annually. The winner will represent excellence in service and commitment to graduate education at Ontario Tech.

  • Eligibility

    The nominee should be a university staff member with a full-time continuing appointment and must have been involved in graduate education for a minimum of two years at Ontario Tech.

    Nominees not selected to receive an award may be nominated in a subsequent year. Previous recipients are not eligible to be nominated for a period of 3 years following the year in which they received the award.

  • Nomination Process and Deadline

    Any faculty, staff or senior administrator may submit a nomination package to recognize a colleague.

    A complete nomination package will contain:

    1. Letter from the nominator(s) describing the attributes of the nominee.
    2. Two letters of support from a graduate student and a colleague (or other Ontario Tech members) who have closely interacted with the nominee in the past (maximum 2 pages).
    3. Letter of support from their supervisor, including a rationale as to why the nominee qualifies for the award (maximum 2 pages).
    4. The nominee's summary of accomplishments, which may include: any qualifications received, their current position, and any awards or special recognitions.

    *Supporting documentation may be submitted in one of two ways:


    The award will normally be given out annually and will typically correspond to the SGPS Excellence Awards cycle. As such, the submission deadline for nomination packages will normally be the last week of May. The School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies will announce the submission dates as part of the call for nominations.

    The 2023 nominations will open on April 17, 2023 and will close on June 1, 2023.

    Proceed to Nomination Form

  • Selection Process and Criteria

    Excellence is broadly defined and judged on the quality of the nominee’s service and commitment to graduate education at Ontario Tech. Nominees should demonstrate excellence in one or more of the following areas:

    1. Support and guidance of graduate students that exceed expectations;
    2. Leadership that contributes to the growth and well-being of graduate students;
    3. Initiatives, policies or procedures that further Ontario Tech’s mission as it pertains to graduate education; and/or,
    4. Community participation, volunteering and other significant achievements that enhance the graduate profile of the University.

    The selection committee will be chaired by the Dean of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or designate. The committee will consist of at least three members, including one graduate faculty member, one graduate student (which may be the Graduate Studies Committee representative) and one full-time continuing staff member from outside SGPS. A member of SGPS will participate at committee meetings as a resource. Committee membership should include at least one of the previous award winners when available. The committee will review the nomination packages and recommend the recipient to the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

    All nominees will be notified of their nomination and invited to the SGPS Excellence Awards event for the announcement of the winner.

  • Public Recognition and Value of the Award

    A maximum of one award will be presented annually. Each award consists of a recognition plaque from the Dean of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. The award will be publicly announced during the annual SGPS Excellence Awards ceremony. 

  • Winners and Nominees


    • Samantha Watson, School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (SGPS)*

    Learn more about the 2022 SGPS Excellence Awards


    • Jessica Hogue, Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT)
    • Cheryl Simmons, Faculty of Education (FEd) and Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH)*
    Learn more about the 2020 SGPS Excellence Awards. 


    *denotes winner