Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Award of Excellence in Graduate Supervision

Professor with students

The Ontario Tech University Award of Excellence in Graduate Supervision was established in 2018 to recognize faculty members who have displayed excellence in the mentorship and supervision of graduate students at the university. 

  • About

    One award is presented annually. The winner will represent excellence in an array of characteristics attributed to graduate supervision. It is a testament to the quality supervision and mentorship that inspires graduate students to become successful scholars and professionals. 

  • Eligibility

    The nominee should hold a graduate faculty appointment and must have supervised graduate students at the university for a minimum of six years. 

    Nominees not selected to receive an award may be nominated in a subsequent year.

    Previous recipients are not eligible for a period of 10 years following the year in which they received the award.

    Note: Faculty members who hold an Associate Graduate or Emeritus appointment are not eligible.
  • Nomination process and deadline

    Nomination packages may be submitted by any currently enrolled graduate student.

    A complete nomination package will contain:

    • Nomination form completed by up to two student nominator(s).
    • Supporting documentation*:
    1. One (1) letter from the student nominator(s) describing the attributes of the faculty member's mentoring and supervision skills (maximum four pages) 
    2. Four (4) other letters of support, including:
      • Three (3) letters from graduate students (Master’s or PhD). At least one (1) letter should come from a student currently under the supervision of the nominee. The two (2) remaining letters may come from students who have been supervised as graduate students by the nominee in the past (maximum four pages each).
      • One (1) letter of support from the home faculty graduate program director or dean, including a rationale as to why the nominee qualifies for the award (maximum four pages).  
    3. The nominee's abbreviated CV including a summary of current and past graduate students and information on the years they were supervised or co-supervised, the degree type and their present position, and any awards or special recognitions received by those students (maximum eight pages). Note that the CV should be obtained directly from the nominee.

     *Supporting documentation may be submitted in one of two ways:


    The award will normally be given out annually and will typically correspond to the SGPS Excellence Awards cycle. As such, the submission deadline for nomination packages will normally be the last week of May. The School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies will announce the submission dates as part of the call for nominations.

    This year's nominations are open from April 18 through June 1, 2022.

    Proceed to nomination form

  • Selection process and award criteria

    Excellence is judged on the quality of supervision and mentorship that inspire graduate students to become successful scholars and professionals. Characteristics include engagement, availability, quality and timeliness of guidance and feedback, responsiveness to student needs, and enthusiasm for the pursuit of knowledge. In addition, the supervisor must promote timely completion of the thesis and encourage the career development of the student through the provision of leadership and support in academic matters such as publishing, presenting and applying for funding.  

    The Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or their designate will chair a selection committee. The committee will consist of no more than three graduate faculty members. Committee membership will reflect the diverse research disciplines at the university and when possible should include at least one of the previous award winners. The committee will review the application packages and recommend the recipient to the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. 

    All nominees will be notified of their status after public announcement of the award recipients.

  • Public recognition and value of the award

    Each award consists of a recognition plaque. The award will be publicly announced during the annual faculty/staff awards ceremony.

    The celebration for the 2022 SGPS Excellence Awards cycle is TBD.

  • Winners and nominees


    • Shahid Alvi, PhD, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH)
    • Christopher Collins, PhD, Faculty of Science (FSc)
    • Jean-Paul Desaulniers, PhD, Faculty of Science (FSc) *
    • Shilpa Dogra, PhD, Faculty of Health Sciences (FHSc)
    • Shahram Shah Heydari, PhD Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT)
    • Lorayne Robertson, PhD, Faculty of Education (FEd)


    • Bradley Easton, PhD, Faculty of Science (FSc)*
    • Hossam Kishawy, PhD, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS)


    • Carla Cesaroni, PhD, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH)
    • Bradley Easton, PhD, Faculty of Science (FSc)
    • Khalil El-Khatib, PhD, Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT)
    • Hossam Gaber, PhD, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS)
    • Hossam Kishawy, PhD, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS)
    • Meghann Lloyd, PhD, Faculty of Health Sciences (FHSc)*
    • Sheldon Williamson, PhD, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS)

    Learn more about the 2019 nominees.


    • Miguel Vargas Martin, PhD, FBIT*
    • Khalil El-Khatib, PhD, FBIT
    • Janette Hughes, PhD, Faculty of Education (FEd)
    • Hossam Kishawy, PhD, FEAS
    • Manon Lemonde, PhD, FHSc
    • Masoud Makrehchi, PhD, FEAS
    • Carolyn McGregor, PhD, FBIT
    • Lennaert van Veen, PhD, FSc

    Learn more about the 2018 nominees.

    *denotes winner